7 Sussex County Teachers Among Nominees For 2014 Delaware Teacher of the Year

Oct 08, 2013 -- 11:52am

19 teachers – one from each school district in the state – have been nominated for Delaware’s 2014 Teacher of the Year Award.

Seven out of the 19 teachers are from Sussex County school districts. The nominees from Sussex County are Allison Peet, a fourth-grade teacher at Milton Elementary School; Lori Hudson, a fourth-grade teacher at Phillip C. Showell Elementary School in the Indian River School District; Emily Ritchey, a Spanish teacher at Delmar High School; Kaitlin Calloway, a third-grade teacher at North Laurel Elementary School; Natalie Cullen, a K to 5 music teacher at Blades Elementary School in the Seaford School District; Deborah Long, a social studies teacher at Sussex Tech High School; Daniel Bryant, a fourth-grade teacher at Woodbridge Elementary School, and Judith Burns, an agriscience teacher at Milford High School.

The teachers were selected from among the 9,000 public school teachers in Delaware. The winner will be announced at the annual awards banquet on October 29 at Dover Downs.

Return to: WGMD Local News Blog

Michael Savage


Coming Up
Coast to Coast AM, 12:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.